1890 Land-Grant Universities

African Americans could not benefit from the passage of the First Morrill Act (1862) in states that did not allow them to attend institutions of higher education, due to segregation. These states were primarily in Southern and border states. In fact, it was not until the passage of the subsequent legislation known as the Second Morrill Act of 1890 that African Americans were able to attend land-grant institutions in many states.

The Morrill Act of 1890 prohibited the distribution of money to states that made distinctions of race in admissions unless at least one land-grant college for African Americans, was established, and thus brought about the establishment of 19 public black colleges. It should be noted that several institutions outside of the South and border states provided access to African American students long before the Morrill Act of 1890. Prior to the establishment of the black-land grant system in 1890, access to higher education for African Americans in the United States was primarily limited to private universities.

Alabama A&M University (AL)

Alcorn State University (MS)

Central State University (OH)

Delaware State University (DE)

Florida A&M University (FL)

Fort Valley State University (GA)

Kentucky State University (KY)

Langston University (OK)

Lincoln University (MO)

North Carolina A&T State University (NC)

Prairie View A&M University (TX)

South Carolina State University (SC)

Southern University System (LA)

Tennessee State University (TN)

Tuskegee University (AL)

University of Arkansas, Pine Bluff (AR)

University of Maryland Eastern Shore (MD)

Virginia State University (VA)

West Virginia State University (WV)

The map below reflect the location of these 19 institutions plus 80 more HBCUs. All of the HBCUs by State are included in our unbiased information of the best online undergraduate and graduate degree programs.